Blog Archives

The MetaPod – Pokémon TCG Rotation 2016/2017

Hello everybody!

Of course I’ve recorded a video talking about the format rotation Pokémon TCG, how have you missed it!?

You can watch it right here ❤

Twitch TagTwitter TagYouTube Tag

Avacyn Restored – Thunderous Wrath & Miracle – A somewhat closer look

Hello Nurglings!

I recently asked in a pool what card or mechanic you wanted me to talk about from the recent Avacyn Restored spoiler. As I write this, the votes are, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 3, 3. So I decided that I would decide for you this time! Then I will revisit the pool tomorrow or later today and talk about something else.

So let us start off with: Thunderous Wrath & The Miracle mechanic.

Okay so first things first when you look at this card: What the hell is up with the top of the card? Do you flip Miracle cards? Is there something else not mentioned on the card? No don’t worry, this design is simply there to make it easier for players to remember the fact: This is a Miracle card, you may want to cast it. Because once the card goes in to your hand, it’s too late.

“We wanted to make sure that we did everything we could to help players realize they’ve drawn a miracle card.” – Mark Rosewater

So what is the Miracle mechanic? Well it is worded as follows:
“You may cast this card for its miracle cost when you draw it if it’s the first you drew this turn.”

There have been plenty of questions about Miracle, for example: What happens if you play a card that draws multiple cards like Brainstorm? Do you have to draw one first to see if it has the Miracle trigger? Do you draw all three and let them all trigger? Or does Miracle only count when you draw it with a “Draw a card” like effect?

Sadly, I don’t have the answers to these questions… yet. The Mechanic will be discussed this Monday on Magic The Gatherings official website, I will come back to these questions than, If the answers are there… Another important note: Black will not get Miracle cards.

Now let’s take a look at this card and what it does for us in constructed. Thunderous Wrath is a card that I think will be fitting for two different decks in the near future (taking into account that we are returning to Racniva next block). Aggressive red decks, Boros and U/R (Izzet) control decks.

The red decks that focus more on quick wins and plenty of big damage outlets will probably love this card, one mana to kill a big creature or do 5 direct damage isn’t bad. Thunderous Wrath and Brimstone Volley are two very real cards, and things can go faaaast.

Talking about Brimstone Volley and Thunderous Wrath, both are cards that could be used in U/ R decks, blue will help you a lot when trying to make Thunderous Wrath as effective as possible. Cards like Ponder helps you plan the next few turns of Miracle cards. Be very careful though when activating several cards like Think Twice. If you end up drawing this card as your second or third card, you’re stuck with a 5 damage spell for six mana. Well thankfully it’s at instant speed which means you can still be somewhat tricky with it. But it does not kill Titans, or Wurmcoil Engine, or Geist of Saint Traft, or… you get the idea.

But I’m guessing that this will be more focused on actually killing your opponent than killing of creatures. It’s just a sweeter deal when you actually can choose to kill creatures when you have too. Finally my U/R deck may actually be a thing! I will share it as soon as we have a few more cards spoiled from Avacyn Restored.

This was just a very quick look at Thunderous Wrath and Miracle, even if I could only give you the questions and no answers. But soon the answers will be here, I promise!

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Nurgle Update – Zombie miniature game rules?

Hello my Nurglings!

If you did not know, I’m one huge zombie-fan. Not as huge as some, I don’t go all out zombie all the time, but I love things related to zombies. Games, books, comics and my favorite mission in Star Craft 2 – the missions when the mutants (zombies) come attack your base at night.

You got to love things like that.

Anyway! I’ve been working on a set of rules for a Zombie Apocalypse miniature game, with character cards and what not. If I can get a rulebook done, do you want me to share it with you guys? Either I try and publish it by myself and do a print on demand style book + a simple free PDF version. Or I just, let it out there for everyone to use, that people can comment and suggest rule changes on. I will be doing an Alpha set of rules just for that purpose though. So we’ll see.

Oh well, for now a first draft of a Character card. Enjoy.

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Magic The Gathering – Triggered / Optional Abilities Rule 1.4

Hello my Nurglings.

Oh what a mess we are in, well not really a mess, just a very annoying situation in which a lot of cards in Magic will have to change their wording to fit this new rule, or you will simply have to LEARN how to detect it.

Before jumping in to the rule change and look at examples, let’s show you the actual written 1.4 rule:

1.4. OPTIONAL ABILITIES
Traditionally, some abilities include the word ‘may’ as part of their text, indicating that their effect is optional. At Competitive and Professional REL, some additional triggered abilities and enters-the-battlefield replacement effects are considered optional. The player is not required to follow the instruction when the ability resolves, and if the ability is forgotten it will not retroactively be applied. An optional ability does one or more of the following things, and nothing else:

• Gains you life or causes an opponent to lose life.
• Puts cards from your library, graveyard, or exile zones into your hand or onto the battlefield. This includes drawing cards.
• Causes opponents to put objects from their hand or the battlefield into the library, graveyard or exile.
• Puts a permanent into play under your control or gives you control of a permanent.
• Puts +x/+x counters, or counters linked to a beneficial effect, on a permanent you control.
• Gives +x/+x or a beneficial ability to a target creature you control.
• Exiles, damages, destroys, taps, or gives -x/-x to an opponent’s target permanent. If the ability could target your own permanents, it is not optional unless that ability could target an opponent.
• Gives you additional turns or phases.
• Counters a spell or conditionally counters a spell, but only when cast by an opponent.

Abilities that trigger at the same point in each players turn and do something to “that player” (e.g. Howling Mine) are never optional.
This list is comprehensive. An ability that does not fit all of the criteria above is not optional, even if it is to the benefit of the player controlling the ability. Similarly, an optional ability is always optional, even if it would be to the detriment of the player for it to happen.

Oh the mess, and oh all the explanations your local judges will have to do in the future. To put it simple, the list in the middle of the text: if any triggered effect on a card does any or more of those things, it’s a may effect. EVEN if the card in its written form does not include the word MAY. So, huge errata coming up on the Gatherer I’m guessing, or people will just have to know this list…

You want a few examples you say?

(A thanks to Lectrys on http://forums.mtgsalvation.com for the following example.)

Under Rule 1.4, Angel of Despair’s Enter The Battlefield trigger is not optional. This is what Angel of Despair says:

When Angel of Despair enters the battlefield, destroy target permanent.

Rule 1.4 says this:
Exiles, damages, destroys, taps, or gives -x/-x to an opponent’s target permanent. If the ability could target
your own permanents, it is not optional unless that ability could target an opponent.

Since destroying target permanents may target your own permanents and cannot target opponents, Angel of Despair’s Enter The Battlefield trigger is therefore mandatory.


(A card that is just insane now by the way).
Rule 1.4
Gains you life or causes an opponent to lose life.

Since the cards trigger gains you life this is now a MAY trigger. Believe me I’m adding this to my EDH deck. FINALLY!


Since a part of his triggered ability is also to look at the top card, he is not a MAY ability. Looking at specific cards from the top or bottom of your deck is not a part of the list. So you “have” to do it.

Well until next time, take care.
Cya soon!

Kevin Twart – Mistakes were made (Tour Guide)

Hello my Nurlings!

To all of you that play Yu Gi Oh, you’re probably aware of the big no no from Kevin, he stated inaccurate rules on his Facebook and it was quickly taken in as ”fact” with many players. The rule – XYZ material monsters get their “leave the battlefield” triggers. This created a huge hype around the card “Tour Guide from the Underworld” and it’s combination with the card “Sangan” the price on Tour Guide even went up to around 500 dollars for a set (3 cards).

It was insane, at the same time, me and a few other stated that the OCG rules clearly made this an invalid play. XYZ material creatures are not on the field, they are physically under the card on the board but they are not on the battlefield according to the rules. A lot of people defended Kevin’s theory by stating that the TCG rules will probably be different like so many times in the past. I doubted they would make such a huge difference in rules between areas with cards that would clearly see a lot of play.

Here is the message from Julia Hedberg explaining the situation.

Hello judges!

I’m emailing you to let you know that a new version of the rulebook has been posted to http://www.yugioh-card.com. You will find it under the Gameplay section of your country’s official site.
The notable change in this version – which is version 8.0 – deals with Xyz Monsters and Materials.
You will find this information on Page 45, under “Xyz Materials”.

“Xyz Materials”
Monsters that are used to Xyz Summon are called ‘Xyx Materials’, and are placed underneath the Xyz Monster, to show that they are attached to it. Monsters that have become Xyz Materials are not treated as cards on the field. When an Xyz Monster leaves the field, all of the Xyz Materials attached to it are sent to the Graveyard. If an Xyz Monster is flipped face-down, or becomes controlled by the opponent, the Xyz Materials are not sent to the Graveyard. They remain attached to the Xyz Monster.

Leaves The Field
Some monsters have effects that activate when they ‘leave the field’. For example, these effects activate when the monster is sent to the Graveyard, or is banished, or is returned to the hand or Extra Deck. When a monster on the field is shuffled into the Main Deck, or becomes an Xyz Material, it is no longer a card on the field, however its effects that activate when it ‘leaves the field’ will not activate.”

Please take the time to review the new rulebook, and alert the players in your area about this new version.
Judges should also read the article that was just posted on the Konami Strategy Site, which discusses Xyz Monsters and Materials – it will answer other questions you may have about Xyz. You can find it by clicking this link:
http://www.konami.com/yugioh/articles/?p=3195

Thank you for your patience as we worked on the many translations and dealt with the other logistics involved in bringing you this update.
Remember that the correct email to use for rulings questions is us-ygorules@konami.com.

I still do not have any reliable updates about the status of the Judge Forum – I know we would all like to have it back online and available. I hope it will be soon.

Thank you again for all your efforts, they are appreciated as always!

Julia

Julia Hedberg
Judge Manager, Card Business
Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc.
Us-judgesupport@konami.com

Well until next time, don’t get those expensive cards because of one persons thoughts on rulings.
Cya soon!

To clarify the Double Faced / Day Night / Transform cards

Hello my Nurglings!

I know that there’s plenty of you out there concerned about the different rulings for Double Faced Cards (from now on DFC). I will be gathering a few rule questions and answers here for you all to read up on, if something is confusing, well just leave a comment so I can clarify it. A big thanks to Mark Rosewater who answered a few of these on his twitter: @maro254 Let’s start with those ones.

General information.

1. Premium DFC are premium on both sides.
2. Every Innistrad booster has a DFC (they replace a common with a DFC of any rarity).
3. Three out of four Innistrad boosters has a checklist card instead of a land card.
4. DFC cannot be turned facedown, they don’t have a facedown.
5. If you copy a DFC, you only copy the face-up side (day side).
6. If you play with opaque sleeves, you can play DFC’s in your deck. If not, you use the checklist card.
7. DFC are always “sun side up” in zones other than on the battlefield.
8. Cards, equipments, enchantments, counters, effects, damage all stay on the DFC as they transform. It’s still the same card.
9. During draft, you may “hide” your DFC pick under the land/checklist card.

Anything he/I forgot to mention? If you come up with a question, leave it here and I will add whatever information I can find to the list.To be honest, there are plenty of questions when it comes to drafting/limited in Innistrad, we will just have to wait for some more information about that.

Until next time, stay safe.
Cya soon!