I was so excited! During the weekend Pro Tour Avacyn Restored took place in Barcelona and the format was Innitrad Block Constructed. Personally I thought that Red/White would be doing great at this event, Green/White being a close contender. There were plenty of sweet decks played at the event, and with not a lot of information to go with beforehand the tournament and its format was widely open to anyone to break.
The man below, Alexander Hayne was the one to break it. After three days of Magic the Gathering, facing Gaudenis Vidugiris in the finals, Alexander won! With a deck that I was rooting for since the moment I saw his deck check.
Alexander Deck Check:
So why was I hoping for this deck to win? Well, just a week or so earlier I had been working on a deck named Miracle (this one for Standard though and not for Block Constructed). Just as I had finished the skeleton of the deck, I backed away from the idea, not sure it would work at all. The fact that the cards aren’t exactly the cheapest ones also made me back away from it.
After seeing this Pro Tour Coverage, my heart filled up with new hope that a U/W Miracle deck may actually work in Standard as well. I will share with you my list of 60 cards and I hope you enjoy it.
(The Deck below is not Alexander Haynes deck, check the video above for that.)
Deck Name: Miracles
4x Delver of Secrets
4x Tamyio, the Moon Sage
2x Gideon Jura
Other Spells: 24
4x Temporal Mastery
4x Entreat the Angels
4x Devastation Tide
4x Think Twice
4x Glacial Fortress
4x Seachrome Coast
4x Evolving Wild
So until next time Nurglings, take care.
I know that many of you are somewhat confused about the two new abilities from Avacyn Restored. So I thought I would share some rules with you. Enjoy the reading!
If you have any questions about it, you know, just ask!
702.91a Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.10). “Miracle [cost]” means “You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it’s the first card you’ve drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost.”
702.91b If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, he or she plays with that card revealed until that card leaves his or her hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack.
* You still draw the card, whether you use the miracle ability or not. Any ability that triggers whenever you draw a card, for example, will trigger. If you don’t cast the card using its miracle ability, it will remain in your hand.
* You can reveal and cast a card with miracle on any turn, not just your own, if it’s the first card you’ve drawn that turn.
* You don’t have to reveal a drawn card with miracle if you don’t wish to cast it at that time.
* You can cast a card for its miracle cost only as the miracle triggered ability resolves. If you don’t want to cast it at that time (or you can’t cast it, perhaps because there are no legal targets available), you won’t be able to cast it later for the miracle cost.
* You cast the card with miracle during the resolution of the triggered ability. Ignore any timing restrictions based on the card’s type.
* It’s important to reveal a card with miracle before it is mixed with the other cards in your hand.
* Multiple card draws are always treated as a sequence of individual card draws. For example, if you haven’t drawn any cards yet during a turn and cast a spell that instructs you to draw three cards, you’ll draw them one at a time. Only the first card drawn this way may be revealed and cast using its miracle ability.
* If the card with miracle leaves your hand before the triggered ability resolves, you won’t be able to cast it using its miracle ability.
* You draw your opening hand before any turn begins. Cards you draw for your opening hand can’t be cast using miracle.
702.92a. Soulbond is a keyword that represents two triggered abilities. “Soulbond” means “When this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature you control for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control” and “Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control.”
702.92b A creature becomes “paired” with another as the result of a soulbond ability. Abilities may refer to a paired creature, the creature another creature is paired with, or whether a creature is paired. An “unpaired” creature is one that is not paired.
702.92c When the soulbond ability resolves, if either object that would be paired is no longer a creature, no longer on the battlefield, or no longer under the control of the player who controls the soulbond ability, neither object becomes paired.
702.92d A creature can be paired with only one other creature.
702.92e A paired creature becomes unpaired if any of the following occur: another player gains control of it or the creature it’s paired with; it or the creature it’s paired with stops being a creature; or it or the creature it’s paired with leaves the battlefield.
* Two paired creatures are still individual creatures in every way: they attack and block individually, they are targeted and affected by spells or abilities individually, and they change zones individually. If two paired creatures are attacking, blocking one of them has no effect on the other, for example.
* Neither soulbond ability targets any creature.
* You must control another unpaired creature at the moment a creature with soulbond enters the battlefield or the soulbond ability won’t trigger at all. However, the creature that pairs with the creature with soulbond isn’t chosen until the soulbond ability resolves.
* If the pair is broken, the bonuses and abilities granted to the creatures immediately disappear. If the bonus included an increase to toughness, this may cause a creature to have damaged marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness. If that happens, the creature is destroyed.
* If becoming unpaired causes a creature to no longer have an activated ability, instances of that ability that have already been activated and are on the stack are unaffected.
* Certain keywords granted to paired creatures are only relevant at a specific time, usually during combat, so becoming unpaired and no longer having that ability may have no effect on the current turn. For example, if a creature with reach blocks a flying creature and then loses reach, the creature with flying will still be blocked.
* A creature with soulbond may grant an ability to itself and the creature it’s paired with that includes the text “this creature.” In such abilities, “this creature” refers only to the creature that has that ability, not the creature it’s paired with.
* If a creature with soulbond is paired with another creature with soulbond, each of them will receive both bonuses.
* If you control multiple unpaired creatures with soulbond and another creature enters the battlefield, each soulbond ability will trigger. Soulbond abilities that try to resolve after you pair the creature will have no effect.
* If a paired creature with soulbond loses soulbond, it and the creature it’s paired with remain paired.
Until next time Nurglings, take care.
I recently asked in a pool what card or mechanic you wanted me to talk about from the recent Avacyn Restored spoiler. As I write this, the votes are, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 3, 3. So I decided that I would decide for you this time! Then I will revisit the pool tomorrow or later today and talk about something else.
So let us start off with: Thunderous Wrath & The Miracle mechanic.
Okay so first things first when you look at this card: What the hell is up with the top of the card? Do you flip Miracle cards? Is there something else not mentioned on the card? No don’t worry, this design is simply there to make it easier for players to remember the fact: This is a Miracle card, you may want to cast it. Because once the card goes in to your hand, it’s too late.
“We wanted to make sure that we did everything we could to help players realize they’ve drawn a miracle card.” – Mark Rosewater
So what is the Miracle mechanic? Well it is worded as follows:
“You may cast this card for its miracle cost when you draw it if it’s the first you drew this turn.”
There have been plenty of questions about Miracle, for example: What happens if you play a card that draws multiple cards like Brainstorm? Do you have to draw one first to see if it has the Miracle trigger? Do you draw all three and let them all trigger? Or does Miracle only count when you draw it with a “Draw a card” like effect?
Sadly, I don’t have the answers to these questions… yet. The Mechanic will be discussed this Monday on Magic The Gatherings official website, I will come back to these questions than, If the answers are there… Another important note: Black will not get Miracle cards.
Now let’s take a look at this card and what it does for us in constructed. Thunderous Wrath is a card that I think will be fitting for two different decks in the near future (taking into account that we are returning to Racniva next block). Aggressive red decks, Boros and U/R (Izzet) control decks.
The red decks that focus more on quick wins and plenty of big damage outlets will probably love this card, one mana to kill a big creature or do 5 direct damage isn’t bad. Thunderous Wrath and Brimstone Volley are two very real cards, and things can go faaaast.
Talking about Brimstone Volley and Thunderous Wrath, both are cards that could be used in U/ R decks, blue will help you a lot when trying to make Thunderous Wrath as effective as possible. Cards like Ponder helps you plan the next few turns of Miracle cards. Be very careful though when activating several cards like Think Twice. If you end up drawing this card as your second or third card, you’re stuck with a 5 damage spell for six mana. Well thankfully it’s at instant speed which means you can still be somewhat tricky with it. But it does not kill Titans, or Wurmcoil Engine, or Geist of Saint Traft, or… you get the idea.
But I’m guessing that this will be more focused on actually killing your opponent than killing of creatures. It’s just a sweeter deal when you actually can choose to kill creatures when you have too. Finally my U/R deck may actually be a thing! I will share it as soon as we have a few more cards spoiled from Avacyn Restored.
This was just a very quick look at Thunderous Wrath and Miracle, even if I could only give you the questions and no answers. But soon the answers will be here, I promise!
(Eight more cards right here: https://nurgleprobe.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/avacyn-restored-spoiler-8-new-cards-griselbrand-included/ )
Guess what, five cards from Avacyn Restored has been given out to us at PAX. This is just awesome isn’t it? It’s 2am as I write this so my mind isn’t ready to give a in-depth of what I think of these cards yet, except for one thing: They are awesome!
The first card is the following:
Restoration Angel – 3W
Creature – Angel
When Restoration Angel enters the battlefield, you may exile target non-angel creature you control then return that creature to the battlefield under your control.
So you’re thinking, what can this angel do? Well she is a great spell to protect your creatures from removal. You can also do block-tricks with her, both these things are awesome for limited, and she will be used for sure! I mean, a 3/4 body with flash and flying is never bad, and adding an effect to it… well it’s just never bad. And hell, enter the battlefield triggers, reset undying creatures, blink your snapcasters…. yea. She’s insane.
Excuse me? Did I hear a 5/5 Flyer with hexproof for five mana? Did I just hear that, in Green/White? I love this card! It’s a sweet artwork, she has a competitive cost and the best way to kill her is WoG effects and clones. Oh and you can play her as your EDH commander if you fancy. I will be talking more about this card and the other angels once more of them appear.
Wow, I always love these type of aggressive black creatures. They never seem to find a good place to see play because their negative effects drag them down. But this one may actually make it past that barrier. You still have to have at least two creatues on the field (or knowing your opponents hand / your opponent have no mana) but it feels just good enough. Oh… when it comes back you have to sacrifice a creature. Never mind, it’s to easily controlled by your opponent. Maybe in a B/W token deck though.
Thunderous Wrath – 4RR
Thunderous Wrath deals 5 damage to target creature or player.
Miracle – R (You may cast this card for its Miracle cost when you draw it if it’s the first card you drew this turn)
Okay so, this just feels like an insane card for aggressive or controlling decks that can change the top of their decks around. This way you can make sure you draw it next turn (with like Ponder) and you can do some nasty things. Observe that it says THIS turn, and not on your turn, so you can play cards like think twice, draw in to it on their turn, and play it for a single red mana. 5 damage at the end of your opponents turn doesn’t sound bad to me.
Miracle sounds like an insane mechanic and I will be talking more about it soon!
Silverblade Paladin – 1WW,
Creature – Human Knight
Soulbond (You may pair this creature with another unpaired creature when either enters the battlefield. They remain paired as long as you control both of them).
As long as Silverblade Paladin is paired with another creature, both creatures have double strike.
I’m not really sure I like this particular card, but the mechanic seems kind of fun. I really want to know which directions they took with it and what the different Soulbond effects do. Feels very white and I always like me some double strike. I may have preferred it at the cost of WW and it being First Strike, but as a limited card I say yes please.
This was just a quick look at the cards spoiled so far, stay tuned for more about the new mechanics and cards!
Until next time Nurglings, take care.