Nurgleprobe’s TOP 10 – Boardgames I want to get!

Capitalism, ho! Yea this is one of the weirdest top 10 lists I’ve done in the longest time, ignoring the fact that it was a very very long time since I did a top 10. So in the following list I will present to you, the top 10 games that I want to add to my collection (but because of reasons they’re not in it yet). Let go through the games and tiny motivations to why I have them in my top 10 list of “boardgames I want to add to my collection”.

At spot nr 10.

10. Warhammer 40k: Conquest
40k conquest tiny pic I’ve always been a huge fan of trading card games, but recently, I’ve decided to stop playing them and switch to LCG and other collectible games where you know the contect of the expansions (this mostly because of the huge money-sink feeling of TCGs). Conquest have the setting of one of my favorite sci-fi worlds and the gameplay appeals to me in may different ways. Planets to fight over, a joint goal from both sides and hidden movement. And being a part of a LCG in its early days is something that I would love, being able to get the new cards as they are released and learn as the game expands. Conquest together with Netrunner will be my “go to” card games from now on, thanks FFG!

9. Android
android tiny pic This is not the most popular boardgame in the world, it’s long, have plenty of tiny rules and things to keep in your head and that may not appeal to everyone. BUT I just love how all the mechanics and gameplay creates a story for the character you’re playing. Everything is put in to the game to connect you to the story and world of Android. This universe has a huge appeal to me, and it’s not by chance that I got the other two games set in the same one.

8. Chaos in the old World
chaos in the old world tiny pic This is one of those games… when you sit down and play it, you love it. But then as soon as you leave the table, you hardly remember how the game played. You just remember everything about it feeling thematicly awesome. You play as one of the four chaos gods from the Warhammer Fantasy universe and try to corrupt the old world with your evil powers and followers. I love this game and I really do want it on my shelf. Also… my nickname is Nurgle and in this game… I can not only be called Nurgle around the table, but also PLAY Nurgle. LOVE IT.

7. Tanto Cuore: Oktoberfest
tanto cuore oktoberfest tiny pic All of you out there can play your Dominions and your Thunderstones, but I will stick around with my maid game Tanto Cuore. This game is loved by both me and my girlfriend and we will never say no if it’s pulled out on to the table. This cute deckbuilder puts you in the master positions of a house that you need to hire maids for… to serve you. The art is very cutesy and even tho it puts of a LOT of players, I hav not played with a single Dominion fan that have not liked this game. Behind the manga style art there is a great deckbuilder. Do not miss out on this game just because you turn your head on the theme. Oh and Oktoberfest is the fourth release in the Tanto Cuore franchise. As soon as it’s out there I’m getting it! (Yea it’s not released yet and already on my list… hm).

6. Fury of Dracula
fury of dracula tiny pic This is one of those games that have been asking for another print run for the longest time. Or well, people around the world have been asking for it. I’ve wanted to get Fury of Dracula for many many years, but when I finally started with my boardgame hobby, this game was already long gone and in the safe hands of board game collectors everywhere (and I don’t know a single one of them apparantly). One player takes the role as dracula moving secretley around a board while the other players takes the role of vampire hunters trying to track him down. A out of print game that I would love to get my hands on.

5. Battlestar Galactica
battlestar galactica tiny pic You may not know this but one of my favorite board games of all times is “The Resistance”, a game with secret identities where you try to figure out which players are trying to make your life harder. Battlestar Galactica is a cooperative board game where there may be players working against you. There is plenty of things happening in this game and everyturn there are situations that you and the other players have to solve. Will you make it through or is there players working against you stopping you from progressing, or is it just that you can’t complete it anyway? A great game that everyone should try. I have not yet played with the expansions but I’m looking forward to it.

4. Cosmic Encounter
cosmic encounter tiny pic I’ve played this game two times. And those two games had a huge impact on me, I love how everyone plays a race with a very distinct special power and how the gameplay is so inredibly simple. Even tho if there is a simple base to this game, everything above that is huge. You have to communicate, try and create agreements with other players, figure out when to help and when to backstab and just PLAY it. I NEED this game in my collection.

3. Mall of Horror
mall of horror tiny pic I’ve played the new “version” of this game called City of Horror. Sadly that new version is lacking, especially when it removed a key element of the old game: hidden voting. It was one of the best parts! You could discuss with players, make deals, but then you make that secret vote and do something completley different to what you just promised. Every player wants to stay in the game, but you can not do so by playing it alone (or by playing nice). Communicate your way to your goal and keep your survivors alive in the mall before the zombies comes a’ knockin’.

2. Dead of Winter
dead of winter tiny pic I love zombies. I love hidden traitors. I love discussing. I love story elments. This game put some of my favorite elements from games mentioned in this list and made a game out of it. I CAN NOT WAIT to get this game out on the table with a group of players and try to beat them down as the traitor…. you know… if I end up being the traitor. I’ve been waiting to get this game for a long time and as soon as it is back in stock in my local store I will be all over it.

1. Twilight Imperium 3
twilight imperium 3 tiny pic Epic. Epicness. Epic sci-fi madness. I have not yet played this game. But everytime I see a review of it, everytime I see the gameplay, everytime I feel like playing a long and epic game, Twilight Imperium 3 just pops up in my head. There is so much I think I would enjoy about this game, the space battles, diplomacy, technology, special abilities. MAN. This game. Is something I want to display and have my buddies that enjoy sci-fi just go: WHAT. LET’S PLAY THAT ONE. And I will do it, everytime. I mean… if we have 5-6 hours to spend.

Nurgleprobe Sig

Posted on 17 January, 2015, in Blogg, Board Games, Collecting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

