Casual Gamers: The Noobs & Outcasts [Part 1 -ish?]

(Everything written in the following post is based on personal opinions and ideas and I’m in no way saying that I’m correct unless I have a study or fact to follow it up. Enjoy.🙂 )

Hello Nurglings.

It’s time to discuss something other than card games, I know, how can you do this Nurgle, I thought I know you, are you not a cardgame guru (well we know I’m not that), are you running away from your cardgame coverage (no no of course not).

I just wanted to discuss a important word today.

NOOB

So you call me noob

So after reading that word, what did you first think of? Did you sigh and cringe after thinking of all the people you play with that simply suck at “the game” and drags your team down. Or have you experienced it called out at you over and over when you’re simply not doing that well? No matter how you relate to this word, it’s something that has become way to common in gaming.

Gaming has never been as big as it is now as a entertainment outlet and competitive scene. We have game streaming and YouTube which have created a huge field for gamers to share their skill (or lack of), commentary and funny moments in gaming. I love the fact that gaming is becoming more social than ever, and the fact that it’s so easy to share gaming moments in a way that we could just do in our living rooms before, is amazing.

We also have the great expanding field of E-sports. I’m a huge fan and supporter (in my head at least) of E-sports and even tho I am a supporter I also have a huge fear when it comes to a growing public interest. Cause, I’m not sure if we as observers of E-sports are growing as fast the sport itself.

At least not when I see the word: NOOB.

video game logic ecard

A huge problem I have with online gaming these days is the fact that it’s taken very serious. As we see pro teams and players do their best in their matches and practice games we want to be able to do the same. I bet that you very much like me watched a pro game just to immediately enter that very same game that they were playing with the idea: “I want to get better!”

Then we get online, we play a game, and lose terribly, your supporting players are not supporting, the team communication is horrible… and what is that I see? Russian in the chat? We’ve all been there and it happens. After building up to such a climax of wanting to become better it can’t be irritating to play with players with a different mind and/or skill-set. And suddenly the game has turned in to a chat room where people are calling out the lacking skills of players around them. This is nothing rare in online gaming, sadly.

We need to grow as a community, and with that I mean that we need to understand that gaming now is HUGE, and you wont always play with people that have the same idea of what fun is. In games like League of Legends, Star Craft, Counter Strike and others, there will always be a huge fan base of casual players. They don’t really care if they win or lose, they play the champions, do the builds and play the roles that they WANT to play. They are there for the fun of the game.

So… what’s the problem?

The problem is the fact that online bullying is becoming a huge part of our everyday online gaming. And you may say that the casual players should blame themselves, that they put themselves in the situation where they can be called noobs, that THEY decided to log in, THEY decided to play, THEY… didn’t do anything wrong. No matter how provoking a persons play style or skill may be to you, YOU are NEVER in a seat where you lash out on a person. I will be honest that I just as anyone else that want’s to be a better game in competitive games have been disappointed and raged at people that play worse. But I always try and keep it to myself and not call it out in chat, I have no reason to do so. And usually, as soon as the game is over, I don’t remember the players name or what he did that specific game later. So I really don’t need to pull him down just because I rage.

There is no noob

Casual gamers exist…

…we need to realize this, in the past I’ve had long discussions about casual gamers. How they should be more accepted as gamers then they are now. They are a HUGE part of the gaming community, probably much larger than the field of people that have gaming as a hobby or even lifestyle. We need to embrace this.

I feel like I’ve babbled enough for one post, I will do a follow up eventually. With that I will follow up on some lose ends in this post and maybe even answer on any (if any) comments. but I believe this is enough reading for you right now.🙂

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Nurgleprobe Sig

Posted on 18 July, 2013, in Blogg, Digital Games, General, PC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. People take games way too seriously now, or else this would never even be an issue. I think the biggest problem is the huge amount of young people who were raised under internet anonymity, and have absolutely no qualms about lashing out at others for no discernible reason. There is simply nothing anyone else can do to stop them from acting like fools since it is a non-personal setting.

    • I’m not necessary saying that the people doing this is hiding behind the curtain of the internet anonymity. People acting like this can be very open about it these day, I’ve even watched pro practice games where people act like this. And as a pro-team you should be able to set a better example for fans and gamers.

      But of course it creates a place where you really don’t need to care about the consequences of what you say.

      – Nurgleprobe

      • Yeah, I guess I don’t really watch a lot of pro gaming stuff so I only encounter this kind of absurd behavior in in-game chat. It’s even worse to think about people who are supposed to be representing the gaming world acting so childish, especially as gaming becomes more acceptable to a wider audience.

  2. Like most things, I think that we give the word too much power. I have had many a shit game, where I have been called a noob. Big deal. I have had shit games where I have called people noobs. I’m not a casual gamer at all, but that doesn’t make me particularly good. In the end, it is a game. Who cares if someone you are never going to see again calls you a noob?

    • I may have put to much of a higlight on people calling out the word noob, that is not the overall issue. The problem is the flaming and attitude towards people that are not as skillful or play the game at another (casual) level. And you never know what the words you call out may mean to the other person, maybe he’s dealing with bullying in his non-online life. Simple words and phrases can be very hurtful even if not “so serious.”

      And when it comes to online gaming, there’s always a chance that you may “see” that person again.

      – Nurgleprobe

Leave a Reply

