MTG – M14 – Top 10 cards! – Bottom 5

Hello Nurglings!

(If you’re only interested in the TOP 5 it’s right here: https://nurgleprobe.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/mtg-m14-top-10-cards-top-5-of-the-list/ ]

It’s time to make one of the hardest top 10 lists in a long time. Cause people seem to be complaining ALOT about M14 at the moment. Saying that the power level is over all low, BUT, I’d say that there are plenty of playable cards in this set. People always seem to be expecting a power creep and want to see better, bigger, more useful, awesome spells. That’s not what Standard is about people. It’s about creating a new type of environment with new types of cards and letting new decks emerge.

And I’m telling you there are plenty of playable cards, if we were to make a “These cards are playable list” I do believe people would be happy to notice that there’s plenty of that around.
But nope…

So this is my top 10 cards from M14! I rate from the heart and not from my brain and I most often look at cards for a standard playability, not eternal formats and so on (even tho that may happen with some cards just because I’m to excited… okay?). So let’s move on the bottom 5 of this list. The top 5 will be posted later!

MTG - M14 - Top 10 - 10
10. Dark Prophecy
Some may argue that this card should not even be on this list, and I… agree! The true reason this card is here is because I want to see it. I want to see players use this card, try and build around it, do their Mono Block Control decks and try and win FNM’s. It’s the kind of plan that will work great when it does work and make you cry when it doesn’t. And hell… maybe I want my goat tokens to draw me cards when I block with them or sacrifice them to Trading Post.

MTG - M14 - Top 10 - 9
9. Ring of Three Wishes
Okay you’re laughing but I believe this card will do a lot. I’m going to say it once again but I’m looking at you Trading Post and you will be resetting this card for me. The thing that makes this card awesome, is the fact that is a instant search effect. Yes you have to cast it once, but once it’s out, the searching is awesome. In the late game you can even search for proper instants to respond to your opponents cards.

MTG - M14 - Top 10 - 8
8. Shadowborn Demon
I love black cards, okay? Okay. But really if Mono Black becomes a thing in the next format or if black will be played plenty at all. I do believe that this card will find a place. It’s a strong body for a relatively low cost AND it actually kills something (hopefully) when it enters the battlefield. But just as most demons that are released that seem powerful, they always end up not being the powerhouse they seem to be. So we will just have to wait and see.

MTG - M14 - Top 10 - 7
7. Ogre Battledriver
So this card can work for you in two different ways. One, it gives all your small creatures and token creatures a chance to be very aggressive and awesome. Secondly, it also gives ALL creatures haste, which means that you can use important tap abilities the moment you play them. I see this card winning games all over the place in the future, and I will rage every time it happens and be mad about “fast-creature heavy-decks”. I’m not liking the aggressive decks in the format right now and I sure will not like the ones to come. BUT to all of you that will use him for combos and interesting interactions: I salute you!

MTG - M14 - Top 10 - 6
6. Grim Return
This had two different spots on my list, either it’s down here on the sixth spot or I wanted it as number one. But it’s a hard card to valuate when you’re not really sure what will be played. It’s not only good if you’re playing creatures that can use it to great effect, it’s also great when you’re facing a opponent with plenty of “ETB” – triggers. It will be interesting to see where this card will fit in.

So these are my bottom 5 cards! Next we will check out the top 5. Excited? Oooh just you wait.🙂
Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Nurgleprobe Sig

Posted on 8 July, 2013, in Card Games, Collecting, Magic The Gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

