He has arrived! – Dragon’s Maze Spoiler – Ral Zarek

Hi Nurglings!

One of the posts on this blog that keeps getting plenty of hits, is my post called ”Who is Ral Zarek.” It talks about the design of his clothes, where he will appear and also the possibility of something Ravnica related being a part of the next block.

Cleary we Returned to Ravnica. And now Ral Zarek has arrived.

 

 

 

Dragon'z Maze Spoiler - Planeswalker - Ral Zarek

 

 

 

Yes we are all very very excited about his coming, and so far we are not disappointed! First scream of joy came with the fact that he is our first U/R Planeswalker card. Something that we have been waiting for! Finally it’s time to put that U/R control deck together right? Just because we can put this boss in it?

Erm… maybe that should not be the reason we do things… or SHOULD IT?

Moving on…

Zarek 1

He got a competitive cost with the converted mana cost of 4. So that is a check. His first ability will give him a chance to protect himself as the game continues… wait… no. Okay so here is the deal with his first ability, it’s one aggressive ability. The permanent you tap won’t stay tapped as you pass the turn to your opponent, this is clearly to enhance your chances of attacking or giving him less of a chance to answer any of your spells that are cast during combat or main phase 2.

Nothing wrong with that tho, untapping one of your permanents is not in anyway a bad ability!
It can give you one extra mana, another shot at a tap effect or even the possibility to attack and untap just to have a blocker ready. This ability will find plenty of different uses if Zarek will ever see play (and we do believe he will right?)

Okay so that is his first ability.

Zarek 2

A lightning bolt? A LIGHTNING BOLT!? Okay so I was discussing Zarek with some friends today and we we’re talking about how you could break him in EDH (just for laughs of course as almost any good card can be broken in EDH), and they talked about his second ability as a – 3. I quickly mention that it’s a – 2 ability and they stared at me.

”Wait you can do it twice?!”

Yes, yes you can do it twice.
Do we really need to discuss a sorcery Lightning bolt more than the fact that this Planeswalker can do it twice.

Zarek 3

Okay so …. we all love this. We bend the game rules with this ability… and we can do it up to 5 times. Even if you don’t get to do it 5 times, the chance to have at least 2 extra turns after this ability resolves: really high.

One awesome ultimate ability that may not be relevant with the aggressive feel of first two abilities, but if you manage to pull the trigger and get a bit lucky, you probably have a high chance of winning that game (you know, as your opponent scoops his card up in disgusting and all over your 5 extra turns).

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Nurgleprobe Sig

Posted on 8 April, 2013, in Card Games, Collecting, Magic The Gathering, Spoiler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: