MTG – Standard Deck – Esper Drain (Including Gatecrash)

Hello Nurglings!

It’s been forever since I last shared a deck with you guys. Even though I have been involved in a huge and long project lately it doesn’t mean that my eyes have strayed away from Magic the Gathering. I’ve still been working on ideas, trying to find them silly combos and interactions that I like and I’m looking forward to share some of it with you.

When I left the blog for other missions Return To Ravnica had just been released, now the next set (Gatecrash) is just around the corner and it’s time to see what kind of deck I want to make with the next set coming out.

Let it begin!

Deck - Esper Drain

You may now know this, but my favorite shard is Esper (and “Junk” but it’s not a official one so…) even tho it only holds one of my two favorite colors in the game, that being black and my other favorite being green.

From the moment people played Lingering Souls mixed together with Drogskol Captain I knew that I wanted to work out the Esper deck. And it did shine for a bit but slowly disappeared as the format changed and evolved.

So with the new set Gatecrash I’m working on one of many ideas (with the cards spoiled so far), and I think that I’m on to something fun.  Take a look at this creature set up…

CREATURES
4 Obzedat, Ghost Council
4 Drogskol Captain
4 Restoration Angel
2 Snapcaster Mage
1 Evil Twin

As you may already see the deck is working hard around the Ghost Council which is a SWEEEET card. If you haven’t seen it during the spoiler seasons, well here you go.

MTG Card - Obzedat, Ghost Council

He is amazing isn’t he? Even if this card is my main focus in the build it’s not the only great card in the mix, with him we also have his guardian Drogskol Captain. The captain grants Obzedat extra protection in the form of Hexproof and little extra punch. Seeing as alot of the current removal in the format is sorcery based it will be hard for your opponent to handle these two on your turn. Even during your opponents turn they will have no chance of reaching Obzedat when he’s waiting on the side of the fight to come back and drain more life.

Restoration Angel is in the deck for several reasons, protection of your key cards, suprise attacks and she enables you to drain even more with Obzedat. But obviously, you saw this already.

Evil twin got a spot in the deck as a hate card against angels and beasts that I’ve seen around in the decklist these days. Not sure if he will stay in the list but I want to try him out. For fun.

OTHER SPELLS
4 Lingering Souls
4 Dissipate
4 Syncopate
2 Azorious Charm
2 Cloudshift
1 Detention Sphere
1 Supreme Verdict
1 Unburial Rites
1 Jace, Architect of Thought
1 Liliana of the Veil

No I’m still not sure how the spell list should look. I know that I want 4 copies of Lingering Souls in the deck to give extra reach and protection against more aggressive decks. The amount of counterspells may be over the top, but I like how I can be reactive to my opponents plan until I feel ready to be pro active with my own plan (and kick his ass).

The only real card I feel I should comment on is Cloudshift, Cloudshift works as another Restoration Angel really, except you only need 1 mana to do a similar trick. It won’t go sideways against your opponent but it will help you when needed.

MTG - Singing and drain

Lands…

LANDS
4 Hallowed Fountain
4 Glacial Fortress
4 Watery Grave
4 Drowned Catacomb
4 Godless Shrine
4 Isolated Chapel

They are lands.

Hope you enjoyed the deck guys. Feels good to be back.

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon! (Hopefully truthfully this time).

Nurgleprobe Sig

Posted on 13 January, 2013, in Card Games, Deck / Deck Lists, Magic The Gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 4 Obzedat seems like a bit much, maybe 3 would be best and instead throw in another Snapcaster Magic. I also think Syncopate loses a lot of his luster after the first few turns. I’d go with 4 Dimir Charms since it’s a counter, filter for your deck, and a kill spell. We also haven’t seen Orzhov Charm yet, and I bet it will be pretty good. Otherwise, it’s a very solid deck. Glad to see you back and posting again!

    • As it is I’m thinking about skipping Snappy completely, but will have to try different routs to see. When I made the list I was not informed of the Dimir Charm, but that card may have a spot indeed. Orzhov charm tho… sadly seems to be… just bad haha. I agree on the overkill on 4 Obzedat, if the plan is indeed to keep them alive.

      If feels good to back even if I won’t be posting as often as before. 🙂

  2. Any more work done on this deck? I’d really be interested in your “post testing” thoughts.

Leave a Reply

