First Look: Borderlands 2

Since the day Borderlands 2 came out I had a case of the Con Crud, I took off from work and played it with Trev in between naps and doses of dayquil. Yay con crud!

In any case, I feel that Gearbox really out did themselves with this game. Where they were restricted in the first due to money and an industry who isn’t to accommodating to new things anyway, for this one they sem to have really been given full reign. Also, little to no tutorial! YUSH! Although I am guilty of switching back to Borderlands 1 controls. I LIKE FAMILIAR!

I decided to start the game at Axton since everyone else seemed to be going as Zer0 and Trev was determined to do Maya. I happily do not regret my choice. Where I could not get into Roland’s character, I am loving the little tidbits of Axton that we have gotten, I love how he talks to his turret, and so far I’m enjoying the tank type roll.

Not to mention that turret is so much more bad ass then the previous one.

The environments are much more varied and crisp and the people are vastly more interactive. I have been in some cities, deserted towns, bandit camps, ice areas, and desert like areas. It is certainly a change from the all brown out look of the Pandora from Borderlands 1. It is a very nice change. So far I have encountered Nomads, Rakks, Skaggs, Bullymogs, and bandits. One top of three boses. Fast paced game is also fast.

Even farther than all this, I’m loving the background you are getting on all the characters. That was something with 1 I felt we were missing was a real connection to the characters. SPOILER ALERT BELOW

SERIOUSLY DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILS!

LAST CHANCE!


Look! I even put in a big picture to really drive home the point of spoiler!

Too late now, I’m going for it.

Axton has this rather intense backstory where we found out he was going to be killed by firing squad for being a bit of a rouge solider. His commanding officer warns him so that he can go AWOL the night before and warns him to escape to the border planets. She also leaves him her wedding ring, telling him that she never really like diamonds anyway. I felt for him at this moment! This woman that he loved was telling him to leave, presumably because at some level she still loved him as well.

We can end that spoiler now.

But no really…I have a few little qualms with this game, but I’m going to give it time until full review to see if they still sit. Definitely worth the pick up and play, particularly if you have friends to play with either online or sitting next to you.

Now go, have fun, and get you some loot!


I cannot wait for the swath of destruction!


(Originally posted here: http://reithena.wordpress.com/ )

Posted on 19 September, 2012, in Digital Games, PC, PS3, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

