Article by Naoki – MTGO 4 Sealed Events


Recently I have been working a very busy schedule for my job. This coupled with school has left me limited time to work with magic, but I have managed to get in a few games in these past few days. One I would particularly like speak about is MTGO’s 4 pack sealed event.
I personally feel this event is potentially a great way to build up one’s collection while keeping costs to a minimum. My reasoning behind this thought is because the only entry requirement is 4 booster packs. The prize break down is as follows:

1st: 5 boosters
2nd – 4th: 3 boosters
5th – 7th: 1 booster
8th: 0 boosters

So if one were to some how manage to alternate between the top four slots, then essentially you could play for free forever. Of course this is only a hypothetical scenario. So now onto the actual game play.

The play is rather interesting, because unlike most games instead of playing with a 40 card deck your deck minimum is 30. This leads to a rather fast paced game. Lets not forget about those good ol’ mill decks. Not having very much experience I had gained quite a bit. So here is some basics I’ve figured for deck building in this limited format.

You want to keep to the 30 card minimum as much as possible. Next, you will want to have about 12 – 13 mana. Most likely you will probably be playing with three colors.

I know that this wasn’t the most informative post about how one should tackle the event, but I do feel this is a good start. I also came upon this older article for how to get a better understanding of this event. If you’re on a budget, then this may be something you want to get into for mtgo. And for those of your that are interested about the article I had found here it is: Magic: The Classroom.

I do apologize for not posting more. My schedule is quite hectic as I mentioned before, but I shall try my best to make a new post each week. I hope you guys enjoyed this post. Until next time have a good game. =)


(Original post found here: http://naokismtg.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/mtgo-4-sealed-events/)

Posted on 13 September, 2012, in Card Games, Magic The Gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

