Indie Games – Often better than AAA games? Maybe.

Hello Nurglings!

Why should players spend over 50$ on a game when we can get an awesome experience for just 5$. I had a short but interesting discussion yesterday about: how we experience the game industry right now and the games that hit the store shelves. And these games in comparison to indie games.

In this discussion I said that I’m shortly starting to prefer Indie games and smaller productions, over these huge AAA games. Even if the indie games are often shorter and have less of a production value (aka: not as sexy graphics) , they are still plenty of fun. And for the same cost of a new game released through one of the big producers I can get between 5 and 15 indie games.

I’m going to say this right now, I really did not like Final Fantasy XIII (Sorry!), I’ve played several of the older FF games, and I’ve always enjoyed them. But when playing the latest game(at the time), I was … well… sure it looked awesome, the style design was awesome, but the game was not fun. Buying the game on release was a huge mistake and that is a problem.

AAA games, doesn’t mean: good games.

I know what you’re thinking, it’s all about taste Nurgle. A lot of people DID like Final Fantasy XIII so what the problem? Some people will be disappointed with the game. The problem? How often have you heard huge complaints about indie games? People buying games for 5$ dollars, usually don’t complain even if the game is somewhat bad. The complaints are more like: Well it wasn’t what I expected, but it was only 5$ so it’s fine.

Right now, I really don’t know where I’m going with this. It’s just odd to me that these huge companies are creating games that I really can’t enjoy. While most indie games I try out, I still have some fun with it even if it’s not a great game. The indie producers are creating something that’s more fun design-wise; remember that simplistic design is the hardest one to master. Something that the bigger companies should learn and remember.

Eh. I just needed to clear out my head, if you want to ask about anything here or question my thoughts on the subject, just go ahead and leave a comment.

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Posted on 30 March, 2012, in Digital Games, PC and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I Googled “indie games are better” and this was on the first page. I think you are right. Other people too have been saying this. Indie games have more “soul” more “heart” and “ingeniuty” than most of those latest hit games that every kid wants to play. They mostly have an actually sense of humor instead of awkward and unfunny jokes. They have a more mature audience.

    It’s like films. On one hand there are these huge box office action or comedy hits that are in fact boring and unfunny. On the other hand most critically acclaimed, ingenius films are indies. It’s also how most popular music is dumbed down soulless cliche ridden noise.

    • Really glad that someone ended up reading this! It was just a lot of thought that I wanted to put down, but it seems that a lot of people feel this way. Indie games don’t need to please the audience by making everything “straightforward”, but they still makes games GOOD games because they understand what gaming is about (not all of them of course).

      It’s an interesting topic.

      /Nurgleprobe

Leave a Reply

