U/B Zombies Vs. B/R Vampires

Hello my Nurglings!

Welcome back to a new day, with a proper post that won’t make me sound all depressed. The fact is you see… I’m not. It was just something that I was thinking about. So anywaaaaay.

Today I’m going back into my head in another way, what freakin’ deck do I want to build in standard? I was working on the Esper Spirit deck for awhile that Finkel played during PT Dark Ascension. But quickly I noticed that EVERYONE wanted to do that deck so I thought… hell no! I’m going to do something else.

The two decks that I’ve been thinking about since ever (if you followed me you know) is R/B Vampires or U/B Zombies. I even posted a Vampire deck on here after the release of Innistrad (go read that list here: https://nurgleprobe.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/innistrad-on-standard-aggro-vampires/ )

So anyway, the 5 reasons and thoughts for why and why not I should pick the deck.


1. Sexiness
So first we look at the sexiness, or, well, how you feel about the deck when you play it. Yea I’m a player that wants to have feelings for the deck I play. I want to play a card and FEEL that it’s the right thing for me to play, doesn’t matter if it’s a good or bad card as long as it feels right. Like casting Gravecrawler from the graveyard, or attacking with Bloodcrazed Neonate with Curse Of Stalked Prey on the field to make it grow huge. Awesome feelings are awesome!


2. Sideboard
Another very important thing about a deck it to see if the deck can sideboard well in the current format. Both decks have the options to sideboard strong black cards but then after that they differ (duh). Blue can side very counteractive cards like different counter spells and clones. While red can mostly add more board wipes like Slagstorm and artifact removal. Luckily there are several artifact and black cards that can be sided for both Vampire and Zombies.


3. Evolve
What I mean with evolve, is the possibility of the deck sticking around after the rotation in standard. Both decks use a lot of the new cards from Innistrad but they also lose some important cards with the rotation.
Zombies lose: Mana Leak, Vapor Snag, Geth’s Verdict, Mortarpod (one important card indeed), and Fume Spitter. Not that I personally will use Fume Spitter…
Vampires lose: Volt Charge, Incinerate, Child of Night and Bloodseeker.
But both decks will surley gain more cards from Avacyn Restored, question is. Which side will get the better end of the deal? Zombies got the best cards last time, so now it’s time for vampires to shine right?


4. Metagame
Depending on the local metagame the decks effectiveness will change. It feels right now as if the Zombie deck has better options to the different matchups no matter what they play, whilst the Vampire deck may end up short when facing other aggressive decks. Cause you know, the vampires are not big to start off with…


5. Records
What can I say… previous records for the decks. U/B Zombie is the only deck that has been able to top tournaments, but the reason may also be lack of vampire decks? Yea…

So important things to think about indeed. What do you think I should play? I’m guessing there will be a strong vote on vampires as always.

So until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Posted on 22 February, 2012, in Card Games, Deck / Deck Lists, Magic The Gathering, Poll and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

