Dark Ascension – Spoiler – Markov Blademaster

Hello my Nurglings!

Time to talk some more Dark Ascension. I’ve been really slow when it comes to writing about the newer cards spoiled, so I thought I would take some time today to do just that.

The card I’m going to talk about first, is a card that holds some awesome artwork. When I saw the artwork spoiled I really hoped that the card would be playable. This way we could play with one of the best looking cards in Standard.

Did this vampire art live up to my expectations of the card, sadly… well. Here is the card:

So the issues I have with this card starts already at the top. The three mana that it costs to cast this card makes it tough to fit into the vampire tribe deck. Cause the three mana spots are filling up quickly with good cards and you want to be more aggressive than that. And when Vapor Snag is in the format, this can easily be a waste of three mana that you could easily use on two cards instead. And one more thing… it dies to gut shot. Letting your opponent spend no mana to kill your guy for three mana, well let us just say I don’t want that to happen.

Had this card been a 2 / 2 or even a 1 / 2. I would probably have played it, but the way the format is now, I can’t see myself playing this card, and that SUCKS cause… I really love this artwork…

Even though the card is not “good”, I’m not going to deny its power if it actually gets to connect once or twice. After a first hit the card will become a 3/3, so at that point, things are looking A LOT better. Together with Curse of Stalked Prey it becomes a 5/5 after its first attack and will hit for ten damage next turn, so it can be powerful. But still I would say: keep it in your limited decks for now.

Until next time Nurglings, take care.
Cya soon!

Posted on 21 January, 2012, in Card Games, Collecting, Magic The Gathering, Spoiler and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

