Nurgle Standard Brew – Evil Township Deck (WW kinda)

Hello my Nurglings!

Time to go back and look at a deck that I posted a short while ago, the deck that I then called: WW Token Enchantress. Was it a good name? No, maybe not but it was the best I could come up with on a short notice. The deck has now actually been played during an FNM, with a few changes though. (We had to build it in 10 minutes before the tournament started and a few weird changes had to be made).

I was lucky enough to see a complete game with the deck, and as a bystander I could see the issues and what I needed to change. The deck played Mirran Crusader in this hasty version, which was not in the old list (a good add though it wrecks with one or two Honor Of The Pure on the field).

I also noticed that Mesa Enchantress, even though I love her and want to see her in a deck, is not a good enough card. You want to play the enchantments as quick as possible, and that was slowed down by having an enchantress in your hand. The reason; you want to draw that extra card so you have to play Enchantress first. Conclusion: Mesa Enchantress is being scrapped.

Oh my lord there are being so many changes made to this deck, mainly the creature line up. Let’s take a look at it.

Creatures:
4x Doomed Traveler
4x Mirran Crusader
4x Geist-Honored Monk
2x Hero Of Bladehold

So already we’re seeing a big difference from the old list. Mirran Crusader is added because he was just too awesome to resist, the spot was originally planned to held by Mausoleum Guard so if you’re not feeling like playing Crusaders that’s another sweet pick. Leonin Arbiter is also taken out for a more solid pick in Hero Of Bladehold, you cannot deny her awesomeness.

Quickly moving on:

Enchantments: 8
4x Honor Of The Pure
4x Intangible Virtue

Other Spells: 14
4x Timley Reinforcment
4x Midnight Haunting
4x Altar’s Reap
2x Elspeth Tirel

So now you see why the deck is “evil”, I play four Altar’s Reap to reap the benefits of plenty of token creatures. The deck was originally created to be cheap to play, Elspeth Tirel was actually Doom Blades up till the second I posted the deck here. But obviously she is better for the deck, and doom blades can be in the side board if needed. Or Elspeth can be replaced by Doom Blade if you want to play a cheaper version. Elspeth is a though card though, it was either her or two other cards that that I would love to play in the deck, look below to see which cards I was thinking about.

And the lands:

Land: 24
2x Ghost Quarter
4x Swamp
4x Isolated Chapel
14x Plains

Well that’s it for this time, another take on a WW type of deck, with a higher mana curve than usual. But I hope you like this brew of a deck and please comment if you try it out or have any changes or ideas for it. (Like adding space for those Swords!)

Until next time, take care.
Cya soon!

Posted on 17 October, 2011, in Card Games, Deck / Deck Lists, Deckbuilding, Magic The Gathering, Tier Nurgle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey all,

    I used this deck with Mausoleum Guards intead of crusader and it was a great success – place 3 from 16 (I play since 2 months so for me is a success)
    The only guy that beat the s..t out of me had a mono black infect with a Phyrexian Crusader which was equipped with an enchantment +3/+2 and in 2 turns I was dead. An the second game pretty the same story. Now Please help me with ideas how to combat against such thing. I have now 3 Crusaders so I can replace the guards, but still the phyrexian crusader is still a pain in the ass. I nmy side deck I put now 2x Go for the Throat, 2x Dismember. I also could use 2-4x Tumbling Magnet. Any other ideas? Thanks for your help this mono black infect is really an obsession for me now 🙂

    Cheers,
    dan

Leave a Reply

