Innistrad Pre-Release – Part 1 – OMG my pool!

Hello my Nurglings!

Let me tell you a tale, of a certain player nicknamed Nurgle and his travels to the wicked land of Innistrad (pre-release). It was midnight, yes, literally midnight and 38 players had gathered to fight it out, vampire against human, werewolf against zombie, and human against wolf. With preparation done and every player seated at around 10 minute before midnight, the long awaited countdown was about to begin. Well actually most of the people were talking and ignoring the fact until the countdown actually started, but hey.

10… 9… 8… would I, Nurgle do the classic 2 rare lands and crap rares…
7…6…5… could I get at least get a few zombie cards so I can build that deck for standard…
4…3…2… I’m not going to open money rares am I?
1… OPEN!

The sounds of booster ripping spread through the room as everyone were looking for cards like Liliana of the Veil and Snapcaster Mage. After many sounds of: “This is my pool?!” “Yes I got the card(s) I wanted!” and “So much awesome flavor!”. For the first time in my long career of midnight pre-releases, guess what? I could finally say: YES I got the cards I wanted.

So the rare cards I opened for the sealed tournament:

Pack 1: Mindshrieker
Pack 2: Gutter Grime
Pack 3: Splinterfright
Pack 4: Geist-Honored Monk
Pack 5: Liliana Of The Veil
Pack 6: Snapcaster mage

Wait wait wait wait what did I just get!? Yes I was insanely happy about the cards I opened in my last two packs. It was looking to be another night of okay rares that will work fine but not be “DA bomb” once they hit the battlefield. The last two packs changed that and the night became awesome. Funny the fact, I ended up playing Red and White instead of Black and/or Blue. Hey I see the look in your eyes. Don’t you dare look at me like that again! With my pool, it was the best possible deck, several removals in red, and good creatures in white (and removal) seemed to be a perfect mix of cards. Even though I wanted to play Liliana, it didn’t feel worth it when I had to play only a few good and mostly mediocre black cards to use it.

The deck I ended up playing looked like this:

Creatures: 13
1x Geist-Honored Monk
1x Thraben Sentry
1x Voicless Spirit
1x Unruly Mob
1x Silverchase Fox
1x Chapel Geist
1x Village Bell-Ringer
2x Mausoleum Guard
1x Feral Ridgewolf
1x Reckless Waif
1x Hanweir Watchkeep
1x Skirsdag Cultist

Other spells: 9
2x Moment Of Heroism
1x Smite the Monstrous
1x Rally the Peasants
2x Brimstone Volley
1x Rolling Temblor
1x Traitorous Blood
1x Nightbird’s Clutches

Artifact: 1
1x Butcher’s Cleaver

Land (don’t remember if this is right): 17
10x Plains
7x Mountain

I will post this for now, and in the next part, I will tell you how the tournament actually went for this deck! I will also tell you the reason why this was the greatest night pre-release I’ve ever been apart of.

So until next time, take care.
Cya soon!

Posted on 24 September, 2011, in Card Games, Deck / Deck Lists, Deckbuilding, Magic The Gathering, Spoiler, Thoughts, Tournament Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

