To clarify the Double Faced / Day Night / Transform cards

Hello my Nurglings!

I know that there’s plenty of you out there concerned about the different rulings for Double Faced Cards (from now on DFC). I will be gathering a few rule questions and answers here for you all to read up on, if something is confusing, well just leave a comment so I can clarify it. A big thanks to Mark Rosewater who answered a few of these on his twitter: @maro254 Let’s start with those ones.

General information.

1. Premium DFC are premium on both sides.
2. Every Innistrad booster has a DFC (they replace a common with a DFC of any rarity).
3. Three out of four Innistrad boosters has a checklist card instead of a land card.
4. DFC cannot be turned facedown, they don’t have a facedown.
5. If you copy a DFC, you only copy the face-up side (day side).
6. If you play with opaque sleeves, you can play DFC’s in your deck. If not, you use the checklist card.
7. DFC are always “sun side up” in zones other than on the battlefield.
8. Cards, equipments, enchantments, counters, effects, damage all stay on the DFC as they transform. It’s still the same card.
9. During draft, you may “hide” your DFC pick under the land/checklist card.

Anything he/I forgot to mention? If you come up with a question, leave it here and I will add whatever information I can find to the list.To be honest, there are plenty of questions when it comes to drafting/limited in Innistrad, we will just have to wait for some more information about that.

Until next time, stay safe.
Cya soon!

Advertisements

Posted on 30 August, 2011, in Card Games, Magic The Gathering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your point #5 is a bit confusing, especially the part in parentheses.

    The correct rule is that a copy effect (such as Clone) only sees the *currently* face-up side of the card (whether it be night or day) and subsequently that copied object cannot be transformed.

    So, if you have a Howlpack Alpha on the board, and I Clone it, when your Alpha turns back into the Mayor, mine will not. Mine will remain as an Alpha permanently.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: