My return to The Spoils! Welcome to The Spoils!

Hello everyone, I’m glad to see you all back here now that I have an announcement to make. Well actually most of you already know that I’ve been talking about The Spoils lately and that I want to support this game and its growth. And like the honest man I am, this first post on The Spoils is about my very “return” to the game, even though I have been staying somewhat updated at the official forums and was just sitting down with the vast rule document and judge guidelines (you need to read up on those once in awhile), I feel ready to return.

I recently applied myself to volunteer as an article writer or “columnist” for the The Spoils website. The very first thing I was asked to write about, or hinted that I could write about, was my local meta game. At this time I think Bizze is better suited for that task, seeing as they have more constructed tournaments in his area. Where I live we’re crazy about limited formats, sealed and drafts is the way we love to go, it’s also a great way to get new players in to the mix. They sit down, see the cards, build a deck and get a small collection to start of their The Spoils careers.

So, no, this is not an article I’m doing for The Spoils site, this is all for you my Nurgle fans. I don’t think a personal note about me coming back would be very interesting for them so instead, I welcome you all to the spoils!

Well thank you Nurgle, but what is this marvelous “The Spoils” that you talk about?

The spoils is one heck of a card game, it got humor, great game play, sweet community and lately some awesome tournament support. Arcane Tinmen is really doing their best to give something to their players, and I must say their doing a great job and deserve a huge player base. Just like many other card games, they have weekly tournaments known as Afternoon Saturday Spoils (ASS for short). Where you have to chance to get some sweet promos, meet up with people, try your new decks and just have a great time.

If you’re familiar with different competitive card games, you will probably recognize the style of the The Spoils quickly, it’s taken the best from several different systems and put it together to the best possible experience. If you ever played Magic The Gathering for example, you know that at times you will draw a lot of mana and flood your hand, or vice versa. In the spoils you instead use a resource system where any and every card in your hand can be used set facedown a recourse on the field. There is more to it of course, but for an example that will do for now.

As you know I’m currently located in Gothenburg Sweden (or now you know), and for all of you that are Swedish and hit this blog, if you’re interested in the spoils hit me with an email (contact information at the top of the blog) or just a comment to let me know that you are out there. The rescue missions for the game may have been a great success but it’s now time to help the game grow in my local area. Wish me the best of luck everyone!

By the way, if to write an article on The Spoils, where should I start? What should I write about? I’m really taking a long deep look for inspiration and I probably need to get in to the constructed game again to really feel what I can and want to write. Well until next time, stay safe, look up the spoils and have fun!

Cya soon!

Posted on 12 July, 2011, in Card Games, News Update, The Spoils, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

