The PreRelease of M12 and my story

To be honest, my story is not a very exciting one, my friend Johnny that sat in front of me probably had a more interesting story to tell seeing as his pool of cards was actually… well, how should I say it… useful. But hey it’s mostly about the player and I probably did plenty of errors in deck building like always, I really do prefer a draft over sealed deck. For the ones of you that don’t know what the hell I’m talking about right now. Today was the prerelease of Magic 2012, the new core set in Magic The Gathering card game, a sealed deck basically means that you get a few packs with random cards and build a deck with them… but you all know that don’t you?

So Johnny to my front sat there with a huge smile on his face when he opened up his first great card which was a Grave Titan, at the same time I opened Rootbound Crag, not exactly the same awesomeness there. Soon after he screams out in joy again when he opens up a Primeval titan… yup two titans in the same pool. Guess what I opened at the same time? Sunpetal Grove. Hell yea I was on a roll!

I know I sound like an angry old man but really, I was happy for Johnny, at least it was a friend that opened up those Titans, it was cool. You don’t always get a good pool, and you have to except that with a random element, so I tried to do the best of what I had. And even I ended up opening a mythic card so it wasn’t all bad. Sadly the card proved to be hard to keep on the field, damn you doom blade! The card I’m talking about is Primordial Hydra, let me tell you. It gets big, it gets big fast. The only problem with the matches that I got it on the field was the fact that it was handled every time. Most often I even tried to hunt out some removal with my other “big” monsters to let Hydra do its thing. When rushed, it was just easily spotted of, when not rushed, they usually had an advantage over me because of my horrible mid game.

But what I really wanted to tell you about today is about a certain hero. A creature with a plan to dominate the game, to look my opponent in the eyes and say: I’m coming for you big man and you can’t do anything about it! During every game it did at least 3 to 4 damage in my opponent and because of it, my Bloodthirst creatures could feel safe to have their way, always hitting the field with more power. This little guy, during one round, won me the game basically by himself, forcing in a whopping 12 damage. The card? Goblin Fireslinger

Seeing as my pool was kind of shit and the tournament in itself didn’t go very well (2 wins, 3 losses and dropped before the last round) the Goblin story is really the best thing I have to offer. Well I had a good time and I enjoyed the night, yea the tournament started at midnight by the way so it was an all-nighter for me, the tournaments that started this morning should probably be reaching the final rounds when I’m typing this so good luck to everyone at the prerelease!

Cya next time.

Posted on 9 July, 2011, in Card Games, Magic The Gathering, News Update, Tournament Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

