Magic 2012 – Let’s talk about the Tribes

Hello M12! I’m glad to see you made it here safe and with some sweet reprints and new cards! It’s always exciting to see what’s coming out in a new set, and like the player I am, I can never decide on what I want to play, it’s horrible to be that kind of person in a collectable card game, trust me. With so many new sweet toys and cards that leave the format, it’s kind of hard for me to see where I want to go.

Lately I’ve been playing a lot of mono black decks, mostly because that’s what I’ve been playing from the start. But with my favorite black tribe, vampires, leaving the game (and at the same time getting new cards *sad face*) I’m taking a step back from one of my two favorite colors, the other being green. It was a fun format that let me play around a lot with that because of Verdant Catacombs, the green/black fetch.

With play testing lately I’ve also realized that tribe decks are the ones that I enjoy playing the most. Be it vampires, elves or even white weenie which is my current favorite one even though I love green and black. Fun decks are also close to my heart, the ones of you that know me out there in the real world, knows that I love cards like Scythe Tiger and Sorin Markov, not the greatest cards in the format, well except for Schyte Tiger, it’s the best card ever!

Here he is again bragging of his great success!

Now that you know where I come from when looking through the new cards, let ‘s start with what I’ve just talked about; the tribes! There are currently five tribes in M12, White Weenie (Yes I’m counting that), Elves, Goblins, Zombies and Illusions. Illusions being a completely “new” blue tribe, they’re finally taking a step away from the Merfolk and giving us something new to play with. Illusions are also keeping their, if you’re targeted you die ability which probably will be their downfall in the end, but that’s where the lord comes in. Giving all illusions +1/+1 and Hexproof (or troll shroud if you prefer). With the new illusion clone for two mana (Phantasmal Image), and having protection thanks to counter spells, this tribe may be worth looking in to.

Two other cards should also be mentioned when talking about the tribes of M12 and the first one is the completely new card Adoptive Automaton, which is an artifact creature that lets’ you choose a creature type, he becomes that type and gives all other creatures of that type +1/+1. It’s quite a good add to any of the tribes that are lacking that extra power, except for WW which can’t use him that well.

The second oddly placed tribe leader, is a new vampire, to be honest, I’m somewhat excited about him and what this means for the next block, but I also feel zombies will be the main focus when it comes to black tribes, seeing as they got plenty of support cards in M12. Hell at least we can enjoy our vampires a bit longer even if the new ones aren’t as great as the Zendikar ones! He’s a vampire 3/3 flyer with Bloodthirst 3. While he’s on the field, vampire you cast get Bloodthirst 3 as well, ah nifty trick if you ask me, the positive thing with this type of lord is the fact that he won’t need to stay on the field to have supported the other vampires. The negative part being that you need to get some damage in to make him viable. But casting a 4/4 or a 5/4 vampire with lifelink for two mana seems quite awesome if you ask me.

Before I end this I also want to mention one tribe that just kind of popped up in M12, and even though I don’t believe it will be played all that much, it’s still kind of enjoyable to see.

THE SPIDERS!

So that’s that for the different Tribes of M12. Do you have a favorite?

Posted on 6 July, 2011, in Card Games, Magic The Gathering, News Update, Review, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

